IMG_4892

IMG_4899IMG_4904

IMG_4905My squirrel self is in full swing. It’s an autumn thing. September was a month for darting around and flitting through the trees and clouds of Craggy Garden, for hiking up to the top of Clingmans Dome and for running down the mountain in the rain. It was a month for meeting hundreds of new little people. There is so much busy to be had.

Some progress was made on the resolutions.

1. Cook something fabulous and complicated every other week.

I managed to cook four somethings fabulously. Two were even complicated. Mission accomplished.

2. Eat dinner before 7:30

I can’t do it. I only managed a 53% success rate. Boo!

3. Tend the garden.

I only got in two hours of garden time. I planted pansies and bought mums. The basil finished drying, so I packed it in adorable little jars (even if I do say so myself) and gave the SoKaNers early Christmas presents. The comments heard ’round the table are telling:

“Can you smoke it?”

“You should have given us rolling papers to go along with it.”

“This jar is the perfect size for a shot – you can take your whiskey to go!”

“I wanted the jar with the orange lid…why does she get that one?!”

These people are out of control.

Hm.  I just realized I didn’t count the time I spent picking and arranging flowers on my spreadsheet. That’s probably because it didn’t feel like work.

the fruits of my labor

the fruits of my labor

4. Finish Inferno choreography.

I spent 9 hours on the dance this month.  There are parts still not exactly choreographed and the dance will be performed on stage in less than 33 hours.

5. Write a book.

46 minutes — that’s it for the entire month. September was not a month for sitting still.

6. Meditate 15 minutes a day.

See previous comment. I got three hours in total and one of those hours was spent at a Quaker meeting, which was my first Quaker experience. I thought sitting in a room in silence with other people for an hour might be weird, boring, or awkward.  It was none of the above. It was the most peaceful morning of the entire month and it passed too quickly. It was so nice to be with others and not have to instruct, direct, introduce, discuss, agree, argue, prove, comment, question, remind, relay, request, suggest or any other speech act. To just sit and be – it’s a good thing.

Soon silence will have passed into legend.  Man has turned his back on silence.  Day after day he invents machines and devices that increase noise and distract humanity from the essence of life, contemplation, meditation.  Tooting, screeching, booming, crashing, whistling, grinding, and trilling bolster his ego.

–Jean Arp (1887-1948)

