“The moment you fall in love feels like it has centuries behind it, generations–all of them rearranging themselves so that this precise, remarkable intersection could happen.  In your heart, in your bones, no matter how silly you know it is, you feel that everything has been leading to this, all the secret arrows were pointing here, the universe and time itself crafted this long ago, and you are just now realizing it, you are just now arriving at the place you were always meant to be.”

-David Levithan

I started Every Day yesterday and finished it before 9 this morning. I slept and dreamt in between, but the story called me awake early this morning. I’m not sure if it consumed me or if I consumed it, but I do know I haven’t read a story that held me hostage like this in a very long time. This is the tale of a body-snatcher….kinda.  “A,” the protagonist, wakes up in a different person’s body everyday, though (s)he has no control over who and where. Sometimes A is in a male’s body, sometimes in a female’s body, and (s)he doesn’t particularly identify with gender one way or the other. This is how it’s always been since A’s earliest memories. Each host is A’s chronological age – 16, and (s)he can access the hosts’ memories to get through the day without messing up the host’s life, which is typically A’s goal. That changes when A falls in love with the girlfriend of one of his hosts.

This is such an original and fascinating premise for a book. The ending vibrates.  David Levithan, please, please write a sequel!

“If you want to live within the definition of your own truth, you have to choose to go through the initially painful and ultimately comforting process of finding it.”

–David Levithan

