While I certainly enjoyed my share of audiobooks during the Hell on Wheels phase of my life, I am mostly a paperback book kind of girl.  The gravity of hardback books is way more than I care to commit to with all the keep-me-pristine-and-put-me-on-a-bookshelf vibes they emit and I have yet to read a complete e-book, though I’ve tried. Oh, how I’ve tried! But I’m a reckless reader with a need to tear through books like the Tasmanian Devil (of the Looney Tunes variety).  There must be spines to break, covers to crinkle, and pages to stain with drops of steaming tea. Yes, I need pages and pages, in between which cookie crumbs are buried.  There must be pages to write on, to highlight, to underline, and to fold….pages to get waterlogged during boat rides and baths. And then when I’m done, the book (well, what’s left of it) can be passed off on a friend or abandoned in a public place, where the story can find its way to another home.

Here are a few more of the books I devoured this winter…

Title: The Art of Hearing Heartbeats

Author: Jan-Philipp Sendker

Synopsis:  A daughter travels to Burma to find the father who abandoned her. What she finds is the beautiful love story of Tin Win and Mi Mi.

Why Did I Read This?  The title captivated me.

Was it Worth It? Yes.

Title: Full Dark, No Stars

Author: Stephen King

Synopsis: Here we have four short stories with mean people doing nasty things.

Why I Read It:  Stephen King’s Different Seasons was one of the first “grown up” books I’d ever read that I wasn’t assigned in school.  I was 11.  This was probably not something 11-year-olds should be reading, but whatever. I went on a Stephen King reading spree at that point and blazed through a buncha his books. Then I got tired of his cheap thrills and didn’t read him for like a few decades.  Then I saw this at the library and it was like seeing an old boyfriend.  I wanted to see what he was up to these days and how he might have evolved as a writer.

How Did the Affair Go?  It was a one-night stand.  We won’t be seeing each other anymore. He’s still into cheap thrills and I’ve moved on.

Title: The Museum of Dr. Moses: Tales of Mystery and Suspense

Author:  Joyce Carol Oates

Synopsis: Here we have four short stories with mean people doing nasty things — nope, that’s not a typo.

Why I Read It: I have this problem.  I really WANT to like Joyce Carol Oates because I feel like I’m supposed to.  She’s supposed to be all literary and stuff, so I keep reading her disturbing stuff and I keep not liking it.  Oddly, I checked this one out from the library the same day I got King’s Full Dark, No Stars.  After reading them back to back I realized that Joyce Carol Oates is the female version of Stephen King.

 

 

 

