Last weekend El D finally managed to get me out of the house for a roadtrip.

Since giving up my interstate life and moving to Peace.Love.Home. last June, I have become a serious homebody.  (On a side note, it feels like we packed multiple years into the last one. It went by in dog years – at least seven.)  Though it was difficult to pry myself away for even a day, it was fun.  Summer doesn’t seem like summer without a roadtrip.

Our destination was the Tennessee Safari Park in Alamo, just a short drive north from Jackson, TN. We took the backroads because that’s how we roll (i.e., amongst the villagers, cornfields, cows, and goats).

It was a gorgeous day.  The sky was filled with marshmellow clouds.  On the drive I was struck by how short the Tennessee sky seems. We have plenty of sky, it’s just kinda squat. I never noticed this until I went to Tulsa where the sky is really tall. It’s weird. Maybe the sky here just seems short because it’s usually hemmed in by a canopy of trees. Or maybe the clouds here are just lower and poofier.  At any rate, I prefer the short one.  It seems safer.  The tall Tulsa sky always made me feel like I could fly right off the Earth at any moment without warning.

short sky and deer

short sky and deer through broken glass

I liked the safari park. I had planned on coming home with a peacock and a goat, but El D and Moon Pie were not being at all cooperative, which is fine because I saw something I might need more than a peacock.  Check it out:

 This guy has the same hairdo as the Angry Russian

I think he’s great.  And his hairdo is just like the Angry Russian’s.

 

Hey, remember that time last summer when I saw the neighbor’s horse and called it over like it was a puppy and El D made fun of me?   Well, same scenario, except this horse was a little punk rocker who tried to get in the car with us…

july 7 2012 017

I’m beginning to think that a roadtrip isn’t a roadtrip unless there’s a zebra involved. 

 

More Posts on Roadtrips:

Arkansas Roadside Attractions

The Angry Russian, SeniorCitizenChurchLady, and The Devil on a Road Trip

