A little light a-shinin’ through the window

Let’s me know everything’s all right

Summer breeze makes me feel fine

Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind.

–Seals & Croft

midsummer 2013 001

For those in the know:

I just realized

the strange 2 a.m. lightshows

could only be the faeries.

You see,

Magic is afoot in the forest.

Mr. Tree woke to show his face

and even now,

at this late hour,

there is much fanfare.

The frogs are festooned with flowers

and the Invisible Conductor

directs their concert.

So many voices

lift and fall

in rhythmic waves.

High trills and chirps,

rising percussives,

and the bass notes of the bullies,

more felt than heard.

I swam through this sea of sound,

diving deep,

and coming up

to breathe the thick, green air

that smelled of life and death

and everything in between.

 

