I’m deviating from my norm here.  Although I review a lot of books, I’m not usually inspired to write anything about  movies.  In fact I don’t think I’ve ever written a movie review. Last weekend though I saw Tree of Life starring Brad Pitt, Sean Penn, and Jessica Chastain and I can’t stop thinking about it.  Tree of Life is a work of art with a beautiful message.  The cinematography reminded me of documentaries I’ve seen on I-Max at the Pink Palace. The story – and there is one, but you have to work a bit to piece it together – unfurls through astronomical and biological images, scriptural quotes, fabulous music, and impressionistic, disjointed scenes of the life of a family who has lost a son. It’s beautiful. It’s one you’ll want to see on the big screen. 

I haven’t seen Terrance Malick’s other films (Badlands, The Thin Red Line, Days of Heaven) but now I’m curious about his other works.  I’ll have to check them out.

Have you seen Tree of Life or any of these other movies yet? Any you’d recommend?

