A hundred times a day I remind myself that my life depends on the labors of other men, living and dead, and that I must exert myself in order to give, in measure as I have received, and am still receiving.

–Albert Einstein

I used to be offended by the word “practice” in the medical profession.  I reasoned that doctors are experts, they should have their medicine mastered! I don’t want them “practicing” on me!  Fortunately, I’m beginning to understand the meaning of the word.  It contains a large dose of humility.  No one is perfect. Practice is day after day walking the necessary walk, one step at a time, one foot in front of the other, one decision at a time.  Practice is knowing that sometimes that walk is over rugged and uneven ground. Practice is realizing that we will sometimes stumble and fall. Practice is falling down and getting back up.  It is reminding ourselves – 100 times a day if you’re Einstein, maybe more for the mere mortals among us  – why we do what we do and why we must continue to walk that walk.

  

 

