In today’s progression towards enlightenment I’ve gotten along without killing any sentient beings.  I’m doing ok on 2-5 as well.  My day included yoga practice this morning with one of my favorite teachers.  I’ve been studying under this woman for over ten years now and I barely know anything about her outside the context of yoga. I can tell you that she is a treasure – highly knowledgeable, upbeat, and creative, with a true gift for teaching. Even after a decade, I still learn something new in every class I take with her.

I thought yoga would be a good place to start off my daily meditation on light and sound.  At the end of class I did my corpse thing, getting all geared up to meditate when I realized I had absolutely no idea what exactly “meditation on light and sound” meant.  Depending on where I am practicing, I typically use my corpse time to either focus on my breathing, subvocalize my mantra (which, by the way is  “Peace”), tune in to a guided meditation, or if I’m with a group that does this sort of thing, I’ll exhale Om’s.  Instead of all that, today I experienced a good 5 minutes of mental ‘Uhhhhhmmm…?” while I attempted to figure out what exactly meditation on light and sound meant.  I tried to focus on sound, but I felt anxious, overwhelmed, and distracted.  There was just too much of it that I usually tune out:  music playing, people breathing and fidgeting, clothing rustling, bare feet shuffling, vibrating phones rumbling, and all the ambient clinks and clunks coming from outside the studio door.  Yikes. I tuned all that out and tried to figure out what meditation on light could mean.  A few images flickered through my mind’s eye like snapshots – the butterfly nebula…

…the ball of fire we spin around…

And then I got all sorts of distracted thinking about rainbows and physics and how objects don’t really possess the property of color…and then I came back to light – to memory: tiny pinpricks of starlight poking holes through a pitch black sky over a small town in Arkasansas.  How many stars there are to see reaching back through space and time! And there, a whispered sliver slicing through that same sky – the merest suggestion of a moon. And finally my mind settled on a more recent memory closer to home: strands of sunlight filtering through clouds to transform the muddy Mississippi into an enchanted silver pool of light. I dwelled in that snapshot for the remaining class. Then corpse time was over and it was time to go let my own little light shine.

