Below you’ll find highlights from several conversations that occurred over a couple months between a troupe of bellydancers who decided to enter a dance competition.  The final product can be found in the video that follows.

~~@~~

Hey, there’s a troupe competition!
OOooh…we should so do that!
Let’s do it!
I wanna do it!
Wheeeee!
I’ll do it.
Let’s kick some sequined asses!

We’ll need to practice a lot.
Wheeeee!
Well I don’t want to practice all the time.
We need to practice more. 
Is practice over yet?
GRRRRRRRR!
We need to be practicing more.
I can’t come to practice.
ARG!! All this practicing!!!
There was a practice?
I’m sorry, I’m going out of town and I can’t practice that day. You can take me out of the dance if you want.
She is not getting out of this performance that easily.
We need to practice more!

Your hand isn’t supposed to be ON your hip, but beside your hip. 

Wrong arm.
Wrong arm.
Wrong arm!

DAMMIT!!

What are you doing with your hand??

That’s only one turn there, not two.  There’s only one turn there, not two.  There’s only one turn there not two.  CRAP.  Now I’m turning there twice!
…well at least we’re both turning together…

WHO were you winking at when we were dancing to the wall?!
I was winking at the judges!
Ohmygod.  She was winking at the judges.
Hey, she has to practice giving good facial.

Raise your chin.

Should our hands be like this, or this, or this? 
Um…were those different?

Don’t look at her when she’s dancing; don’t make faces; and above all, don’t talk to her!  You should know this by now.
Well, I personally think she should dance the whole song by herself while we all look at her, talk to her, and make faces. (And I still think it’s a good program for desensitization!)

I can’t kick when you count!
You can’t kick when I don’t count either.
Hey! I stumbled on the turn! I know how to kick!

The foot goes in with the head slide. 
The foot goes in with the head slide.
The foot goes in with the head slide.
The foot goes in with the head slide.
The foot goes in with the head slide.
The foot goes in with the head slide.

There’s a shimmie there? I never knew there was a shimmie there.
And we’ve been doing this dance for like what…two years?

That line is terrible.
It seems like you’re rushing into the line.
That’s because I am rushing into the line.  I forget it’s there.
Can we drill this line like a bajillion times?
We’ve never done this line right.

Turn, Look, Up-down-up.
Turn, Look, Up-down-up.
I can’t do that.

Let’s wear flowers in our hair!
Wheeeee!!
I hate flowers.
Flowers: good idea!
What color flowers should we wear?

What costume are we wearing?
Let’s wear black and red.
Let’s wear black and silver.
How about this for a costume?
How about this for a costume?
How about this, this, or this for a costume?

Let’s wear the purple and lilac.
Great idea!!
But the purple and lilac make me look fat.

Let’s wear lilac with a silver bra and belt.
Great idea!
No, it’s too light.

Let’s wear the silver bra and belt with a turquoise skirt.
The turquoise skirt shows too much leg.

Let’s wear the silver bra and belt with a turquoise skirt and silver sequined harem pants.
Uhh…what? Those disco ball-lookin’ pants?

Let’s wear the silver bra and belt with a turquoise skirt over a silver skirt. 
Great idea! (x6!!!!!!)

…but I don’t have a silver skirt. 
Neither do I.
Neither do I.
Well I do.
So do I.
They’re easy to make and I have the fabric.
Wheee!  I’ll make your skirts!
Ok. (x3)

Look! I made us all these flowers to wear in our hair!
Oh pretty!
This flower will never work in my hair.

CRAP. I lost my flower.
Ohmygod. I lost my flower too.
Nevermind! I found it!

Bad news: I only had enough fabric to cut out TWO of the three skirts.
I’ll go shopping for the fabric.

I found the fabric!
It’s the wrong color.
It’s silver!
It’s silver on lavendar, the others are silver on white.
It looks like silver on grey to me. But look: SILVER!

I have a silver on pink skirt.

Should I take the fabric back?
Take the fabric back.
Don’t take the fabric back — I want a silver skirt!
Take the fabric back.

Here are two pictures of both materials side by side.  Exhibit A is a picture taken with a flash and Exhibit B is the picture taken without a flash.  This demonstrates that the two materials could pass in the right lighting.

Should I take the fabric back?
Take the fabric back.
Don’t take the fabric back — I want a silver skirt!
Take the fabric back.

Well…you two could wear gold skirts.
WTF, M8?????

Hey, bring that purple material to practice and we’ll cut it out.
Err…if by “purple material” you meant the silver on grey fabric that you told me to take back, it’s too late.  I took it back!
Ok! No problem!

Call everyone you know to see if there’s a silver skirt you could borrow.

The competition is next week. 

We could order fabric….
We’ll order fabric.

Have you ordered the fabric?

We found a silver skirt to borrow!
This skirt is poking me in the back. I want my own silver skirt!

She’s going to Florida this weekend.  She’ll shop for the fabric on her vacation.

She found the fabric!
Whew!

This isn’t the right fabric…it’s too heavy.
This isn’t the right fabric…it’s silver on white, but the [miniscule] silver dots are printed in a circular pattern instead of straight lines.
It’s FINE! It’s silver on white background. GIVE ME THE FABRIC!

EEEE!!!!! We leave in three days!

Good News and Bad News: The troupe competition has been cancelled…

…….and now we’re the opening act for the show.

*insert collective gasp here*

(but which was the good news and which was the bad news?)

