The Knitters & Nutters Report
 Volume 1

The Society of Knitters and Nutters (SoKaN, as dubbed by Skattur), convened for their first meeting on Monday, May 24, 2010. 

The following Knit Wits were in attendance: Skattur, Nanook, Rainbow, and moi.

The following Nutters were in attendance: Quilter, Crocheter, Beader 1, Beader 2, and IDon’tKnowHowToDoAnythingButICameToWatch.

Skattur was proud (overly proud in my opinion) that she found knitting needles even bigger than my preschool crayon-sized needles. Beader 1 said she was gonna top Skattur’s find by bringing two baseball bats next week to knit with. (That’s a Nutter for you).

We had two experienced knitters: Nanook and Beader 1.  According to Skattur, they both proved that knitting is like riding a bicycle — you never forget how to do it.  I guess she’s overlooking that moment when Nanook looked up from the four rows she had just knitted and said, “I just forgot how to do this.” 

Beader 1 did a bit of knitting because she didn’t have her beads yet. Beader 1 shared that she’d once knitted a Mohair sweater.  To which Quilter responded, “What’s a Mo?”

Rainbow is our most novice knitter.  Skattur showed her that weird continental style of knitting that she does. Rainbow set right to work practicing and almost immediately developed an interesting modification to the technique – one that involved holding a needle in her knee pit. The rest of us are English style knitters, thankyouverymuch. 

Crocheter, who apparently was offended by my last blog post about the Nutters, said she was going to make me a flag because I’m a dictator.  I told her yes, she was going to make me a flag, and it was going to have knitting needles and a ball of yarn on it and I was going to march around with it and my army and force the Nutters to salute it.  Then we will all sing the knitting anthem.

No wine was imbibed this meeting.  Instead, the bravest amongst us tenatively sipped on the “tea” Skatter made that was a murky algae green color. The aftertaste of that strange brew was chased with used potato salad, chocolate cake, and ice cream.

Everyone seemed to enjoy getting a look at my knitting creations.  Judging by the oooohs and aaahs, they were most impressed by my Transformer Purse-Hat and Scarf-Strap. 

None of the three fellas present showed the least bit of interest in knitting.  (What the hell??)  Our group desperately needs a man! I suspect RanWrongWay will become an honorary member once he arrives (provided chocolate cake is involved).

The next meeting of Knitters and Nutters is scheduled for Monday, May 31, 2010 at 6:30. I will not be in attendance as I will be in Florida learning the secret art of sock knitting.  (WHEEEEE!!)  However, if you’re interested in joining them, let me know! Newbies and experienced knitters alike are welcome.

(PLEASE let’s schedule a meeting when RanWrongWay is in town!)

